Natural Health & Wellness

Is Ketchup Gluten Free?  The Not So Obvious Answer

Is Ketchup Gluten Free?  The Not So Obvious Answer TheWellthieone

Most of us love ketchup. The condiment is perfect for everything from French fries to chicken nuggets. But before you pour ketchup all over your food, you might want to ask the question: Is ketchup gluten-free?

It would seem obvious, but many processed foods have gluten-containing ingredients added to them for various reasons. Let’s take a closer look at ketchup and find out if it’s really gluten-free.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. It’s what gives bread its chewy texture and provides structure to cakes and cookies. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder that is triggered by gluten. For people with celiac disease, eating gluten can cause serious health problems. That’s why many people are now choosing to eat a gluten-free diet, even if they don’t have celiac disease.

Is ketchup gluten-free?

The answer to this question is a little complicated. Some brands of ketchup do contain gluten, while others do not. It all depends on the ingredients that are used to make the ketchup. Heinz, for example, uses vinegar and tomato concentrate from ripe red tomatoes as the main ingredients in their ketchup. This means that Heinz ketchup is most likely gluten-free.

However, other brands of ketchup might use malt vinegar, which would then make the ketchup not gluten-free. Most vinegars are gluten-free except for malt vinegar. Malt vinegar comes from barley, which is a grain that is not gluten-free.

Be sure to always check the label to see if it contains gluten. Or, better yet, choose a brand like Heinz that you know is safe for those on a gluten-free diet. Bon Appetit!

What are the 3 best, most highly rated gluten-free ketchups?

Below is a list of 3 tried and true gluten-free ketchups that people love. If you can get organic ketchup, we highly recommend it so you can avoid corn syrup that is treated with glyphosate. Glyphosate causes all sorts of health problems and is best avoided as much as possible. 

Glyphosate can be found in all non-organic corn products, including corn sweeteners, which are used in a majority of commercially produced non-organic ketchups.

1. Heinz Organic Gluten-Free Tomato Ketchup

Heinz Organic Gluten-Free Tomato Ketchup

2. Annie’s Organic Ketchup, Gluten Free & USDA Certified Organic

Annie's Organic Ketchup, Gluten Free & USDA Certified Organic

3. Keto Classic Ketchup by Yo Mama’s Foods

Keto Classic Ketchup by Yo Mama's Foods

Concluding Thoughts

When it comes to ketchup, the answer to the question “is it gluten free?” isn’t as clear cut as you might think. Some brands use ingredients that do contain gluten, while others do not. The best way to be sure is to check the label or choose a brand that you can get a clear answer from the label to know that it is truly gluten free.  The 3 brands we provided in this article are not made with gluten.

More from

The links used on are affiliate links, which may provide a small commission. This does not increase the price of the goods for the consumer whatsoever. What it does is ensure that useful content like this can continue to be produced. Thank-you for enjoying our content and allowing us to continue to provide more.

Teacher, Real Estate Investor
Every article that you read on The Wellthie One is carefully researched to provide only the best information, angles, products and advice based on experience. The top priority at The Wellthie One is enabling others to discover how living a more natural lifestyle can uplevel their quality of life. No one is going to care more about your health and the well-being of your family than you are. Education about natural health is to be on-going! Consider The Wellthie One a welcoming place for you to visit often, as you find solutions and recommendations that will help you and your loved ones thrive!