Tootsie Rolls are a classic candy that have been an American favorite for over 125 years, since 1896!
But what are they made of? Are they gluten-free? Let’s take a closer look at the ingredients in a tootsie roll.
Ingredients of a Tootsie Roll
Tootsie Rolls are made of sugar, corn syrup, palm oil, cocoa, and whey.
*Whey is a milk by-product, so tootsie rolls are gluten-free but not dairy-free.
According to the website of Tootsie Roll Industries, they confirm:
“At this time, all of our confections are gluten-free.” “We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts.”
Can you eat whey if you are gluten-free?
Whey protein does not have gluten in it. It may be listed as whey concentrate, whey isolate, or whey hydrolysate. All of these forms of whey are gluten-free. Whey is gluten-free because it is protein itself and does not have the gluten element in it in this form.
So yes, tootsie rolls are gluten-free! Feel free to grab a bag and put it on your desk for your 3 p.m. energy requirements.
LaetaFood Tootsie Roll Juniors Chocolatey Chewy Candy
Rejoice! Tootsie Roll candy is indeed gluten free!
Many people who suffer from celiac disease or gluten sensitivity find that tootsie rolls and other similar snacks are safe to eat, and the manufacturer confirms it on their website.
More from thewellthieone.com
The links used on thewellthieone.com are affiliate links, which may provide a small commission. This does not increase the price of the goods for the consumer whatsoever. What it does is ensure that useful content like this can continue to be produced. Thank-you for enjoying our content and allowing us to continue to provide more.