Natural Health & Wellness

Is Boba Gluten Free?

Is Boba Gluten Free_ TheWellthieone

Boba is a type of tea that originated in China. It is made from sweetened tapioca balls that are cooked and then served cold at the bottom of a clear glass with tea of varying flavors, milk, and sugar.

Classic boba tea with licorice flavored boba, milk and sweetener
Classic boba tea with licorice flavored boba, milk and sweetener

Classic boba ingredients

There are many different boba tea brands and flavors out there, but the ingredients typically include:

  • Sugar
  • tapioca starch
  • soy milk powder
  • rice flour
  • salt
  • vanilla extract
  • flavor of choice

Is boba gluten-free?

Yes, most types of boba are gluten-free since they are made from tapioca starch, which is naturally gluten-free.

However, it’s always best to double check with the restaurant or store before purchasing. There are a few rare exceptions that use wheat flour in their tapioca pearls, so it’s important to be aware of those. Enjoy!

More from

The links used on are affiliate links, which may provide a small commission. This does not increase the price of the goods for the consumer whatsoever. What it does is ensure that useful content like this can continue to be produced. Thank-you for enjoying our content and allowing us to continue to provide more.

Teacher, Real Estate Investor
Every article that you read on The Wellthie One is carefully researched to provide only the best information, angles, products and advice based on experience. The top priority at The Wellthie One is enabling others to discover how living a more natural lifestyle can uplevel their quality of life. No one is going to care more about your health and the well-being of your family than you are. Education about natural health is to be on-going! Consider The Wellthie One a welcoming place for you to visit often, as you find solutions and recommendations that will help you and your loved ones thrive!